Since January 1, 2018, residents in the nation’s highest state (Colorado is 6800 feet above sea level) are now allowed to grow marijuana plants in their homes. As long as you’re over 21, you can now grow small amounts of marijuana for personal and medical use.
If you want to grow it for business, you have to be a state-approved caregiver or a state-registered grower. Caregivers are allowed to grow marijuana for up to 5 patients (up to 6 plants per patient).
However, these patients must be registered as suffering from HIV, AIDS, chronic pain, nausea, multiple sclerosis, cancer, cachexia, chronic nervous system disorders, glaucoma, or epilepsy. Be sure to check out all the legal requirements if you intend to grow medical marijuana.
You Must Be 21
While Colorado has legalized the growing of marijuana for recreational use, an important caveat is included in that law (Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-18-406 (2019) is that you must be at least 21 years old. Growing marijuana before 21 years of age makes you liable for a misdemeanor, and can be fined between $500-$5000 or face between 6-18 months in jail for illegal possession of cannabis plants.
How Many Marijuana Plants Can You Grow in Colorado?
Coloradans over 21 are allowed to have up to six plants per resident, with only three flowering at the same time. However, counties and municipalities are allowed to impose even stricter laws on their residences. For instance, in Denver, the recreational law allows you to grow only 12 plants per residence, even if there are more than two adults in the residence.
Colorado Law also requires that your marijuana plants be grown in an enclosed area that the public cannot view. That means it is illegal to plant your marijuana in an open, outdoor garden in Colorado, even if it is fenced.
If your home has minors, all marijuana plants must be locked up and placed in a separate, enclosed space that is inaccessible to them. While there is a significantly noticeable decrease in marijuana use among Colorado youth, you must also ensure your marijuana plants are restricted and inaccessible to visiting youth.
You are also not allowed to grow marijuana within a 10-foot radius of a school. If you plan to grow marijuana in your home, read your tenancy or lease agreement carefully to ensure it is 420 friendly.
Colorado Marijuana Possession Limitations
Can you walk around with all the pot you grew at home? No.
You can legally possess only one ounce of marijuana at any time. You are also not allowed to sell your homegrown surplus unless you are a state-licensed retail establishment.
Depending on the amount, selling off your bumper harvest could potentially get you charged with a felony or a misdemeanor for smaller amounts. However, it is legal to gift amounts limited to one ounce to friends and family over 21.
It is an offense in Colorado to own weed paraphernalia if you are not a registered patient. It is also a petty offense in Colorado to smoke up to 2 ounces of marijuana in public. If you are found with more than 2 ounces, you will be fined and possibly face jail time.
If you are a Coloradan over 21, you are now allowed to get high on your own supply, but within the confines of legal requirements. So before you start growing, read the Colorado Home Grow Laws carefully.